Healer guide questions

Stuck on a quest? Lost your Chocobo? Problems Connecting? Server errors? Ask your questions here, answer any questions that you can. Help each other out.
Healer guide questions
July 8th, 2013, 4:18 pm

I have been reading various topics on the beta test forum about healers and I am confused on some points, so I thought I would ask here. It is my first time in this type of game (my only experience being WKC) so I want to learn and be the best I can be in my class.

1) If a mob attacks a healer, do you run or do you stay put? Do you attack them back if no one is helping you out? Should you be using repose/fluid aura? I thought healers just healed, but some seems to fight and I thought tanks didn't like that because it garnered aggro.

2) Do you stay behind the tank or in front of the tank? I thought behind was the right spot but there seems to be debate.

3) Cure, medica, heal or don't heal. Some are saying that curing creates aggro. But if you don't cure the tank and keep on top of their health, then it is bad. Medica is only a last resort because it does get attention, but isn't it better than letting everyone die? Confused.

4) Healers are supposed to stay back at the edge of the fight, but what if a monster does a surprise attack from behind or one breaks off from the pack and attacks? Do I run to the fight in front of me, wait for someone to come and help or stop curing and fight the one alone? I am a little tired of being left with this single goblin/spriggan on me in a CBM corridor while the other 3 move on and then yell at me for them dying in the next room. :(

There may be more questions, but I am just interested because I am trying to learn in the beta. Thanks.

ℒℴѵℯ, Hina ~ Neko Hime-sama, NekomimisFTW ˚₊✩‧₊(⌯͒o̶̶̷̤ ꀾ o̴̶̷̤⌯͒)* ✩‧₊˚

“Everyone smiles, when they are with you. Please...go and help people in my place. Share your happiness with them." ~ Yui, SAO
Hinagiku
Grand Neko
Grand Neko

FFXIV Avatar: Hinagiku Meishou